Beaver Academy of Offense

beaver4b6“The Best Defense needs a good Offense!” The Beaver Academy was founded in the Shire of Ravenslake in A.S. XXXII as a public Academy for the Study and Practice of Rapier Fencing in the Style of our esteemed predecessors DiGrassi, Silver, Savolio and others. Innovations of the Beaver Academy include the Rapier Pike and notorious “fish fight” in the Midlands Rapier List. The Beaver Academy also began the long-running Middle Kingdom Academy of Defense in the Shire of Ravenslake, a tradition now ably continued by the Shire of Caer Gwyn.

The Beaver Academy Membership Rolls

Founding Lector

Lord Alexander de Seton of Altavia

Founding Scholars

Lord Kevin O’Shaughnessy 
Lord John Quartermain 
Lord Reinmar of Ravenslake

Current Lector or Lectors 
Fealan Laidhaeann

Previous Lectors

Warder Cy 
Mad Molly McGee 
Catalin Zöldszem 
Lord Kevin O’Shaughnessy 
Lord Alexander de Seton of Altavia 
Lord Damien Nihthauk 
Lord Neko Me 
Master Sir Ixtilixochitl de los Indios 
Neko Me Jr. 
Warder Torquil MacGillavrey 
Cerian Cantwr

List of Beavers

Rheinmar de Haus Zestroyer (1st Student)
Gintaras Tauras
Cecil du Pont
Christian Fournier
Gwenfife (Lector-at-Large – AEthelmearc)
Sir Ixtilixochitl de los Indios
Master Isaac de Hugo
Viscount Syr Myles Blackheath
Neko Me
Liam of the Bow
Adrian Flechyr
Kyrstyan Makfall
Sebastian Elger
Moira MacGillavery
Torquil MacGillavery
Sorcha MacGillavrey
Damien Nytehauk
Yehoshua ben Israel
Yoshitomo Toshio & Siobhan (breeding pair-Atlantia)
Lord Leon Jeronimo Suarex & Lady (breeding pair-Meridies)
Giovanna di Ferrara
Molly Magee
Mistress Isabel Moundoghter
Uadahlrich von Sassmannshausen
Simon Hondy
Catalin Zöldszem
Marie la Fauconniere

ragingbeaver Crew of the Raging Beaver
Letter of Marque for the Raging Beaver. For those unfamiliar with the Beaver Academy, you might wish to confer with Master Alexander de Seton ( for proper modes of address to the Lector.

Thorbjorn’s Favor

Bearer of Thorbjorn’s Favor: 
Every year at the Middle Kingdom Academy of Defense, fencers are asked to elect a new bearer of Thorbjorn’s Favor.

Thorbjorn’s Favor is a traveling honor, created in remembrance of Master Thorbjorn the Greysides, awarded once a year to an attendee of the Middle Kingdom Academy of Defense in the Shire of Ravenslake. Citizens of the Middle Kingdom and of the kingdoms of Northshield, Ealdormere and Calontir are eligible. Those who have already born the favor (see list below) are not eligible to bear it again. The bearer is chosen each year by a vote of those fencers in attendance. Tie votes are decided by the previous bearer. The new bearer is asked to wear the favor for one year, to bring it back to the next MKAOD, and to have his or her name embroidered on the favor before passing it on to the next bearer.  

Bearers of Thorbjorn’s Favor:  
1) Master John Inchingham
2) Master Fritz Bare
3) Sir Guillaume LaFort
4) Baron Adam Comyn
5) Master Alexander de Seton
6) Master Christian de Fournier
7) Don Mateo Montero de Madrid
8) Warder Gallien le Cavalier de L’lle
9) Master Philippe de Leon
10) Mistress Moira MacGillavrey 
11) Master Anton du Marais
12) Master Warder Terrance of Tynedale
13) Warder Kai Tseng 
14) Master Adam MacAoidh 
15) The Honorable Lord Liam Martini 
16) Warder Cecil duPont 
17) Master Peter Grau von Bremen 
18) War-Don Adam Carmichael